HRCA Members

  • Mr Andrew Naylor, Chair

Andrew Naylor is a Barrister in Maurice Byers Chambers. He was formerly a Solicitor with the NSW Police Integrity Commission

  • Mr Simeon Beckett

Simeon Beckett is a Sydney barrister who practices in human rights. He has been a past President of Australian Lawyers for Human Rights, an executive member of the Australian Human Rights Group in support of a Human Rights Act for Australia, and is a long-term member of he NSW Bar Human Rights Committee. He also teaches human rights law from time to time at Sydney University Law School.

  • Dr Michael Curtotti

Michael Curtotti is Principal Lawyer for the ANU Students Association and the ANU Postgraduate & Research Students Association. In this role he provides legal services to individual students and student organisations. He formerly served as Secretary of the Australian Forum of Human Rights Organisations. His area of human rights interests include exclusion and discrimination against non-citizens. Through the ANU Research School of Computer Science, he has undertaken research applying information technology to improve communication of law.

  • Mr Patrick Earle

Patrick Earle is the executive Director of the Diplomacy Training Program at the Law School at the University of NSW

  • Mr James Dunn, Convenor

James Dunn, AO, founder of HRCA, is a former diplomat and former senior Australian Federal Parliamentary Researcher

  • Dr Roger Gurr

Dr Roger Gurr is a former President of Amnesty International Australia and currently Director of Mental Health in the Sydney West Area Health Service

  • Dr Jeff Kildea

Dr Jeff Kildea is a Barrister and historian. He is a former Chairman of the Catholic Commission for Justice and Peace and was a member  of UNIYA, the Jesuit Social Justice Centre in NSW

  • Dr David Kinley

Dr David Kinley holds the inaugural Chair in Human Rights Law at Sydney University. He was formerly Director of the Castan Centre for Human Rights Law at Monash University in Melbourne

  • Benjamin Lee

Ben works for the Asia Pacific Forum of National Human Rights Institutions (APF). He previously worked within the United Nations human rights system in Geneva and with human rights organisations in Asia.

  • Ms Sanushka Mudaliar

Sanushka Mudaliar is a consultant to women’s rights organisations in the Asia-Pacific. She has previously worked with Oxfam Australia, Womyn’s Agenda for Change-Cambodia and the Association for Women’s Rights in Development (AWID)

  • Sister Patricia Pak Poy

Pat Pak Poy, AM, is a Mercy Sister and the the national coordinator of the Australian Network of the International Campaign to Ban Landmines

  • Mr Chris Sidoti

Professor Chris Sidoti is a former Australian Human Rights Commissioner and former Director of the International Service for Human Rights

  • Mr Pat Walsh

Pat Walsh is a former Human Rights Officer for the Australian Council for Overseas Aid and currently senior advisor to the East Timorese Government’s Reception, Truth and Reconciliation Commission Secretariat


Former Members

  • Mr Harris van Beek

Harris van Beek was a former Director of Amnesty International Australia, former CEO of Enterprise Career Education Foundation, and Senior Consultant with the Nous Group.  Harris passed away in October 2017. He is affectionately remembered for his contributions to the HRCA and the cause of human rights. An obituary for Harris appeared in the Sydney Morning Herald:  The quiet hero of Australia’s human rights movement.